Happiness Project

Wowza! The last few weeks have been trying. There is an assorted list of minor occurrences contributing to this overall stressed out feeling I have.

Now a month ago, I started reading the book “Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubins. Not that I am unhappy. When I picked up the book in the Fort Lauderdale Airport, JD asked why I would even get the book. “You’re not depressed”, he commented as I presented my book of choice.

He was right. I am/was not depressed. I am someone that allows too many little things to influence her general mood. I decided to begin my own Happiness Project. This project is a little different than the book. My Happiness Project is really a decrease the controllable stressors project. 🙂

What stresses me out?

  • Unrealistic work expectations
  • Clothes freakout because of body issues
  • Family obligations
  • Money strain
  • My health when I get sick
  • Time crunches
  • Annoying noises
  • Lack of sleep
  • Relationship miscommunication
  • Lack of downtime
  • Unorganization
  • Being forced to spend time with people I want to avoid

If I eliminate the stressors I know exist, I set myself up for being able to handle the unexpected BIG LIFE stressors.

 

Leave a Reply

