Pies for my Honey

Joseph’s birthday is right around the corner. Last week, I started making him treats….pie.

I’ve made fruit pies since I was a child. My berry pie won ribbons at the fair. I’ve always been wary of creamy pies. My mother never made them (I realize now because they are so caloric.)

I decided to tackle the task. Joseph listed some of his favorite pies and I decided to give them a try.

Coconut Cream Pie
Martha Stewart Recipe

1

My filling was very runny. I think I used one too many egg yolks and simmered the milk too long. I did discover how much I love homemade whipped cream. It is amazing. I will never buy whipped cream again.

Key Lime Pie
Epicurious

2

The key lime pie was super easy to make. I enjoyed it. I don’t know if I am going to make it all the time. These pies are so sweet. I love just using fruit.

Next week, I will try banana cream pie. Do you have any favorite recipes?

Leave a Reply

